Legal Requirements for Getting Married in Florida, USA
Allow a few days from arrival in Florida to wedding date to process paperwork. We recommend giving yourself more time due to preparation, weekends, holidays or unexpected delays.
Necessary legal documents:
Please note that all documents must be submitted in English. Contact the Embassy in your home country or your Embassy in the United States for an authorized translator. If your documents are translated, be prepared to submit the original copies in your native language for verification as well as the translated version.
- Certified copy of birth certificates, may apply
- Valid passports or valid photo identification
- US residents only: must supply social security number
- Divorce decree or death certificates, if applicable. Details will be necessary for paperwork, but certificates issued within 30 days of remarrying will require original or certified copies to be presented.
Legal requirements to get married:
- Ceremony (Civil/Religious)
Civil and religious ceremonies are legally recognized weddings preformed in Florida. The officiate must be 18 years or older and authorized to conduct a wedding ceremony.
- Age and Relation
The bride(s) and/or groom(s) must be at least 18 years of age. If they are underage, parental consent is necessary. With parental consent, either party can be no younger than 16 years of age. Underage individuals will need to apply for a marriage license from a county judge. Note that the legal age in your home country must be met to be recognized. The couple cannot be related closely by blood. Cousins can marry. Proxy and common law marriages are not permitted.
Two witnesses over 18 years of age must be present for the ceremony and provide their passports.
Take all paperwork to apply in person to the Clerk of the Circuit Court in Florida. Call prior to arriving to set up an appointment, if possible. You will be applying for your marriage license. This license is usually issued same day. The marriage license is valid for 60 days, to be used only in the state of Florida.
There is a mandatory marriage preparation course that applies to residents of Florida. If this course has not been taken within the past year, a 3 day waiting period applies. Non-Floridian residents do not have any course or waiting period.
Note: This information can change at any given moment. For up-to-date information, contact your embassy in the country in which you plan to marry.
We invite you to contact us with any new information. Be sure to note, “Update Marriage Requirements in Florida, USA” in the subject line.